mobile menu Navigation


We want the best for and the best from everyone in our learning community


Our Curriculum 


The curriculum is all the learning activities used to promote learning and personal growth and development.  The curriculum includes both statutory requirements and a range of extra-curricular activities used to enrich the learning experiences of the children e.g. in Foundation Stage the children are taught the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, and in Key Stage 1 and 2 they are taught using the National Curriculum.  We aim to teach children how to grow into positive, responsible people, who can work and co-operate with others while developing knowledge and skills, so that they achieve their true potential. In the Primary School there are three “Key Stages” for the different age groups:


  • The Foundation Stage: 4 to 5 years (Early Years Foundation Stage)
  • Key Stage One: 5 to 7 years (National Curriculum)
  • Key Stage Two: 7 to 11 years (National Curriculum)

Early Years Foundation Stage

The early years foundation stage (EYFS)  (please follow this link for information on the curriculum and on the content for each area of learning) sets the statutory standards that all early years providers must meet. This includes all maintained schools, non-maintained schools, independent schools and all providers on the Early Years Register. The EYFS aims to provide:


  • quality and consistency in all early years settings
  • a secure foundation for all children for good progress through school and life
  • partnerships between different practitioners
  • partnerships between parents or carers and practitioners
  • equality of opportunity for all children

National Curriculum

A new National Curriculum was introduced in September 2014 which contains the programmes of study for all subjects and key stages. The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge they need to be educated citizens but  is just one element in the education of every child. There is time and space in the school day and in each week, term and year to range beyond the National Curriculum specifications. The National Curriculum provides an outline of core knowledge around which teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum. It incorporates the following subjects (please follow links for the content for each subject and each year group in KS1 and KS2):

Please see attached the whole school curriculum overview of what our children will learn in each year group: Whole School Topic Overview 2017-18




The Teaching of Phonics


Taken from the DFE publication: Learning to read through phonics. Information for parents

Phonics is a way of teaching children to read quickly and skilfully. Research shows that when phonics is taught in a structured way – starting with the easiest sounds first and progressing to the most complex- it is the most effective way of teaching young children to read.  It is particularly helpful for children aged 5 to 7.  Almost all children who receive good teaching of phonics will learn the skills they need to tackle new words. They can then go on a read any kind of text fluently and confidently, and read for enjoyment. Children who have been taught phonics also tend to read more accurately than those taught using other methods.


At Swallownest Primary School we use and follow the DFE Letters and Sounds programme for the planning and delivery of phonics lessons.  Letters and Sounds has 6 phases. Phonics begins with our youngest children in F1 through to Year 2. As the children move through Y2 they progress onto the Support for Spelling programme, that then also follows into KS2.

F1- Phase 1 and Phase 2 (once secure at Phase 1)

F2- Phases 2, 3 and 4

Y1- (recap Phase 4), Phase 5

Y2- Phases and 5 and 6/ Support for Spelling


Phonics is taught daily and from Phases 2-6 has 4 different parts to the lesson. The first part is the revisit/review part where previous phonics learning is revisited. The second part is the teach part where the learning of the session is introduced. The third part of the lesson is the practise part where the learning is practised in words. The apply part of the lesson is where words with learning in are applied into a sentence(s). As we teach phonics we use phonic terminology that the children soon become familiar with and confident at using. Key phonic language is defined below:

Phoneme- the sound in a word (e.g. sock begins with the phoneme /s/).

Grapheme- the letter(s) used to represent the sound.

Digraph- 2 letters to make 1 sound e.g. ch (chip), sh  (shop)

Trigraph- 3 letters to make 1 sound e.g. igh (light)

Split digraph- where a vowel and /e/ are split by a consonant e.g. cake, bike


In F1 the children will complete Phase 1 of Letters and Sounds. Phase 1 focuses on sounds and sound discrimination in preparation for linking sounds to letters in Phase 2. Children will become adept at discriminating sounds such as environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body percussion and voice sounds.

Once the children are confident at sound discrimination the children then move onto hearing sounds in words. They develop their skills of hearing alliteration (the same initial sounds e.g. slithering snake), the first/initial sounds in words, hearing/ identifying rhyming words and oral blending and segmenting. Segmenting is the breaking up of sounds in a word e.g. cat- c-a-t. Blending is hearing the sounds in a word and blending them back together to make the whole word e.g. c-a-p – cap.   

Once the children are confident at Phase 1 the children may access Phase 2 towards the latter end of F1.



In F2 the children progress onto Phase 2 of Letters and Sounds. During this phase the children learn 19 letters of the alphabet, and learn to blend and segment using letters. By the end of the phase the children should be able to read and spell some VC (vowel, consonant),  (e.g. is, at, on) and CVC (e.g. hat, pet) words. They will also learn to read the high frequency tricky/dangerous words I, the, to, go, no.  The 19 letters are taught in groups of 4.

s, a, t, p

i, n, m, d

g, o, c, k

ck, e, u, r

h, b, f/ff, l/ll

Children will then access Phase 3 of Letters and Sounds. In this phase the children will learn the remaining 7 letters of the alphabet. They will also learn 18 digraphs/ trigraphs.

j, v, w, x

y, z, qu, ch (chip)

sh (shop), th (thin), ng (ring), ai (rain)

ee (bee), igh (light), oa (boat), oo (moon)

ar (car), or (born), ur (turn), ow (cow)

oi (coin), ear (near), air (chair), ure (pure), er (tower)


There are 12 new tricky/ dangerous words in Phase 3 which are: he, she, we, me, be, was, my, you, they, her, all, are

Children will then access Phase 4 of Letters and Sounds. This is a shorter phase where children consolidate the Phase 3 digraphs and trigraphs. They progress onto applying the digraphs and trigraphs into words with adjacent consonants. In Phase 3 the children when learning a digraph/trigraph will have applied it into a CVC word  e.g. sh- sh-o-p. In Phase 4 they apply the digraph/trigraph into words with adjacent consonants e.g. toast, tree. In Phase 4 the children also apply their learning into polysyllabic(more than one syllable) words such as lunchbox, shampoo, sandpit. They also learn the new tricky/ dangerous words: said, so, have, like, some, come, were, there, little, one, do, when, out, what


Link for document for parents to read